The South West Metropolitan Region has a total area of almost 620 square kilometres (or 11.5% of the Perth Metropolitan Region), bounded by the Canning River, Swan River, Fremantle Harbour, Cockburn Sound, Warnbro Sound and generally 2 kilometres east of the Kwinana Freeway alignment.

Key industries, facilities, activity and commercial centres in the region include:

  • Major industrial areas that form the Western Trade Coast (Kwinana Industrial Area, Latitude 32 Industrial Area, Australian Marine Complex, East Rockingham Industrial Area
  • Fremantle Ports
  • Defence Facilities (HMAS Stirling – Garden Island and Leeuwin Barracks)
  • Jandakot Airport and Jandakot City
  • Major hospitals (Fremantle, Fiona Stanley, St John of God Murdoch, Rockingham)
  • Universities (Murdoch, Notre Dame and a campus of Curtin University)
  • Activity centres – Murdoch (specialised), Fremantle (strategic), Rockingham (strategic), Booragoon (secondary), Cockburn Central (secondary), Kwinana (secondary) and Jandakot Airport (specialised)
  • Retail/commercial centres (Booragoon, Fremantle, Rockingham, Cockburn Gateway, Jandakot City, Phoenix, Kwinana Marketplace, Canning Bridge)
  • Industrial centres – Bibra Lake, Cockburn Central, Jandakot, Myaree, North Coogee, North Fremantle, O’Connor, Port Kennedy and North East Baldivis
South West region map